You are here

Oosteroever? Qué?

The East Bank (or Oosteroever) is the city section between the harbor mouth, the Spuikom and a dune belt that includes a port area, dune landscapes and many beautiful vistas. 

The East Bank (or Oosteroever) is the place to rejoice, to blow out and to seek some peace. The Port area is a fascinating place in the city that offers a rich touristic background. The area is low on traffic, so perfect for a walk in nature with children. The ferry from the city makes it all the more fun. 

4 reasons to visit Oosteroever: 

1. FORT NAPOLEON

Napoleon feared an invasion from England via Ostend harbour and therefore ordered an imposing fort to be built in the dunes in 1811. In both world wars, the fort got a new lease of life as artillery quarter for the German army. Since 1995, Erfgoed Vlaanderen (the Flemish Heritage Association) has managed the fort. It made sure it was restored and turned into an open monument. Nowadays, you can enjoy a visit to the monument or simply have a drink or a bite to eat.

2. BEACH

The beach at Oosteroever is usually less crowded than the bigger beaches. This makes it the perfect place to relax and enjoy a peaceful beachwalk.

 3. Lighthouse

The famouslighthouse, named “Lange Nelle”, is the fourth one in the history of Ostend and the third one on this location. It was built between 1947 and 1949, rises 65 metres above the sea and guides the fishermen safely in the Ostend harbour.

4. DE HALVE MAAN

De Halve Maan (The Half Moon) thanks its name to its shape of a semi-circle. The military structures of the Half Moon are the only remaining Flaksite in Belgium. The former military site includes a command bunker, three heavy flak bunkers, a flanking scheme and several other structures. The Hundius and Half Moon are unique and well-preserved parts of the German Coastal Defense Atlantikwall from 1942-1944.

Food and drinks at Oosteroever

Spread the word

Don't miss out on anything new about Ostend and let us keep you informed!

  • on the best spots to eat and drink
  • on all events and attractons
  • on your chance to win fun prizes

Vous êtes ici

L'« Oosteroever » ? C’est quoi ?

L’« Oosteroever », ou la rive Est, est la partie de la ville d’Ostende entre l’entrée du port, le « Spuikom » et une vaste plaine de dunes. Cette partie consiste en une zone portuaire, un paysage de dunes et une large gamme de vues magnifiques.

L’« Oosteroever » est l’endroit parfait pour se détendre et pour se rafraîchir les idées. La zone près du port est une partie de la ville fascinante avec une offre touristique riche. De plus, il n’y a pas beaucoup de trafic ce qui en fait un endroit superbe pour faire des randonnées. Le petit bateau gratuit qui vous mène vers l’autre partie de la ville, est également très amusant pour les enfants.

Découvrez ici les 4 avantages de l’« Oosteroever » :

1. LE FORT NAPOLÉON

Le « Fort Napoléon » est l’entrée principale de la rive Est. Napoléon a fait construire ce fort en 1811 pour se défendre contre le danger anglais. Maintenant, après avoir été restauré, le fort est un endroit amusant pour toute la famille. Vous pouvez y faire des visites historiques, y voir des expositions et des événements ou même y manger ou y boire quelque chose.

2. LA PLAGE

La plage de l’« Oosteroever » est plus calme que la grande plage et est donc parfaite pour se détendre et se rafraîchir les idées.

3. LE PHARE

Le phare, appelé « Lange Nelle » à Ostende, est le quatrième phare dans l’histoire d’Ostende et le troisième construit en ce lieu. Ce phare fait 65 mètres de haut, contient 324 marches et guide les pêcheurs vers l’entrée du port en sécurité depuis 1949.

4. LA DEMI-LUNE

La demi-lune (« Halve Maan ») à Ostende tient son surnom de la forme en demi-cercle. Les constructions militaires de la demi-lune sont les seuls « sites flak » (défenses anti-aériennes) encore conservés en Belgique. L’ancien site militaire comporte un bunker de commandement, trois grands bunkers « flak » (missiles anti-aériens), des casemates d’artilleries et plusieurs autres constructions. Les batteries « Hundius » et « Halve Maan » sont des parties de la défense littorale allemande « Atlantikwall » uniques et bien conservées des années 1942 – 1944.

Où manger et boire à l’ « Oosteroever » ?

Passer le mot

Vous ne voulez rien rater à Ostende ? Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous tenir au courant.

  • Les meuilleurs endroits où manger
  • Les événements et attractions actuels
  • Gagnez de superbes prix