Face masks are mandatory in the open air in Ostend in the city centre. Click here for a handy map.

You are here

James Ensor Recomposed by Athos Burez

The James Ensor House - 15/12/20 to 18/04/21

Award-winning art photographer Athos Burez tackled 'The Baths of Ostend', the world-famous painting by James Ensor, and gave it his own interpretation. Hundreds of actors were needed for this project. Quite a feat! 

All those characters make it wonderful to wander in Ensor's painting and this is just as true for Burez's work. The curator of the James Ensor House climbed into the skin of Ensor, and the iconic striped man is also present in Burez's work.

Burez mainly opted for recognizable elements, but at the same time wanted to give the artwork a contemporary touch. He subtly and satirically shows the clichés of our society and stirs things up a bit.

In addition to the iconic 'The Baths of Ostend', Athos Burez also worked on Ensor's other themes. He browsed through the vast oeuvre of the Ostend painter and created a series of photographs inspired by death, masks and the nostalgia of Ostend.

All dates

Tue 15 Dec 2020 to Sun 18 Apr 2021

Location

The James Ensor House
Vlaanderenstraat 29
Oostende 8400
Show location on map

Prices

€10
Weekends, Belgian school holidays, public holidays: 12 EUR
Groups (>10 people): 8 EUR
Young people (6-14 years): 6 EUR
Children (<6 years): 0 EUR

Don't miss out on anything new about Ostend and let us keep you informed!

  • on the best spots to eat and drink
  • on all events and attractions
  • on your chance to win fun prizes

Les masques faciaux sont obligatoires en plein air à Ostende dans le centre-ville. Cliquez ici pour une carte pratique.

Vous êtes ici

James Ensor Recomposed by Athos Burez

La Maison de James Ensor - 01/12/20 à 18/04/21

Le photographe d'art primé Athos Burez a abordé « Les Bains d'Ostende », le tableau de renommée mondiale de James Ensor et lui a donné sa propre interprétation. Des centaines de figurants étaient nécessaires pour ce projet. Un vrai exploit !

Tous ces personnages rendent merveilleux de se perdre dans la peinture d'Ensor et cela est tout aussi vrai pour l'oeuvre de Burez. Le conservateur de La Maison James Ensor a grimpé dans la peau d'Ensor, et l'homme rayé emblématique est également présent dans l'oeuvre de Burez.

Burez a principalement choisi des éléments reconnaissables, mais voulait en même temps donner à l'œuvre une touche contemporaine. Il montre subtilement et satiriquement les clichés de notre société et veut ainsi donner un croc-en- jambe.

En plus de l'emblématique « Les Bains d'Ostende », Athos Burez a également travaillé sur les autres thèmes d'Ensor. Il parcourt la vaste œuvre du peintre d'Ostende pour créer une série de photographies inspirées de la mort, des masques et de la nostalgie d'Ostende.

Visitez cette exposition temporaire jusqu'au 18/04 dans la Maison James Ensor.

Toutes les dates

mar 1 déc 2020 à dim 18 avr 2021

Lieu

La Maison de James Ensor
Vlaanderenstraat 29
Oostende 8400
Montrer sur carte

Prix

€10
Vacances scolaires, jours fériés belges et week-ends : 12 EUR
Groupes (>10 personnes) : 8 EUR
Jeunes (6 à 14 ans inclus) : 6 EUR
Enfants (<6 ans) : 0 EUR

Vous ne voulez rien rater à Ostende ? Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous tenir au courant

  • Les meilleurs endroits où manger
  • Les événements et attractions actuels
  • Gagnez de superbes prix