Ensor 1940

Location

Atlantikwall Raversyde
Nieuwpoortsesteenweg 636
Oostende 8400
Show location on map

Dates

Sat 9 Mar 2024 to Mon 11 Nov 2024

Prices

€10

On the night of 27-28 May 1940, Ostend Town Hall was bombed. Three paintings and numerous etchings by Ensor are lost. Lost forever. Because in the archives, only some vague images remain. Were they also masterpieces? Did they add anything to the Ensor we know?

At the request of conceptual artist Lieven Neirinck, these paintings were repainted 84 years later at the Ostend Art Academy, the cradle of Ensor's artistic career. A strange experience to see the works again, in these interpretations.

The location is no coincidence - a bunker on the provincial domain Atlantikwall Raversyde. You can see at a glance the watermark of war: destruction. But the beauty of Ensor's works also pushes back the idea of war. Timeless.

Info
Opening period exhibition: from 9 March 2024 to 11 November 2024
Visit exhibition is included in the admission ticket for Atlantikwall Raversyde

Ensor 1940

Lieu

Atlantikwall Raversyde
Nieuwpoortsesteenweg 636
Oostende 8400
Montrer sur la carte

Quand

sam 9 mar 2024 au lun 11 nov 2024

Prix

€10

Dans la nuit du 27 au 28 mai 1940, l'hôtel de ville d'Ostende est bombardé. Trois peintures et de nombreuses gravures d'Ensor sont perdues. Perdues à jamais. Car dans les archives, il ne reste que de vagues images. Étaient-elles aussi des chefs-d'œuvre ? Ont-elles ajouté quelque chose à l'Ensor que nous connaissons?

À la demande de l'artiste conceptuel Lieven Neirinck, ces tableaux ont été repeints 84 ans plus tard à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts d'Ostende, le berceau de la carrière artistique d'Ensor. C'est une expérience étrange que de revoir ces œuvres, dans ces interprétations.

Le lieu de l'exposition n'est pas une coïncidence : un bunker sur le domaine provincial Atlantikwall Raversyde. En un coup d'œil, on perçoit le filigrane de la guerre: la destruction. Mais la beauté des œuvres d'Ensor repousse aussi l'idée de la guerre. Intemporel.

Info
Période d'ouverture: du 9 mars 2024 au 11 novembre 2024
Viste d'exposition est inclus dans votre billet d'entrée Atlantikwall Raversyde