You are here

Brasserie Henry

From fairly traditional snacks such as baked sandwiches (“croques”) and pastas to fresh pasta salads and crispy baked cod with Mediterranean mashed potatoes. Relaxing at King Henry’s is just great.

CUISINE

We are the first to recognize the difficulty in satisfying everyone’s culinary wishes when you are having a meal at a seaside restaurant. Quite often the tastes of families with children or even grandparents are miles apart. Brasserie Henry has found an excellent solution for this problem by offering a number of so-called signature dishes such as ‘mussels prepared by the Chef with Marsala wine’ and ‘vol-au-vent with a Hollandaise sauce and French fries’. These are two dishes, which were specially selected for the Zeesterre. Children can tuck into a spaghetti or shrimp croquettes. Something you should definitely try is the Nicoise salad, which has been prepared with freshly grilled bluefin tuna!

BEVERAGES

Apart from Brasserie Henry’s extensive range of cocktails, they also offer 10 different types of gin. The white house wine is French whereas the rosé and red wines are Spanish. They also offer a number of more notable beers such as the Omer, the Ommegang and the Poppolou, an Ostend beer.

INTERIOR

We arrive on a warm summer’s day and find an inviting terrace looking out over the sea and the trendy beach clubs. Brasserie Henry’s interior, however, is more traditional and rustic and can best be compared to a Parisian brasserie. Take a seat on the trendy and spacious terrace while the waiters serve their customers in a composed and relaxed manner.

DISHES

We would like to taste one of the famous cocktails and opt for the Mexican Mule, prepared with tequila, lime juice and ginger beer. Surprising, refreshing and definitely asking for seconds. In short, an excellent aperitif. Unfortunately, we are not fond of the pepper coulis accompanying the cob and therefore opt for the meat instead: grilled ‘Duke of Berkshire’ pork chops with a pickles-based béarnaise sauce and rosti potatoes (€ 24). The pork chops have been sublimely roasted and are just slightly red. The sauce is absolutely exquisite. The rosti potatoes are an excellent alternative for French fries.

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

Contact details? 
Albert I-Promenade 65 bus 22
059/51.87.50
info [at] brasseriehenry.be (info [at] brasseriehenry.be)www.brasseriehenry.be

Type of cuisine?
Brasserie offering fresh pasta, fish and meat dishes. 

Opening hours? 
Open from 10.30 am. 
Closed on Wednesday and Thursday.

Travelling by car? 
Park your car at the Ostend Casino car park (fees apply). 

Travelling by public transport? 
Take the tram and get off at the Marie-Joséplein stop. The restaurant is only a few minutes’ walk away.

Don't miss out on anything new about Ostend and let us keep you informed!

  • on the best spots to eat and drink
  • on all events and attractions
  • on your chance to win fun prizes

Vous êtes ici

Brasserie Henry

Des snacks classiques comme des croque-monsieur ou des pâtes et des plats comme du cabillaud frit à la purée de pommes de terre… Ils y ont tout chez Brasserie Henry.

La cuisine

Nous savons tous qu’il est difficile de faire plaisir à tout le monde à la mer et très souvent, il s’agit de familles avec des enfants ou même des grands-parents. C’est dans ces cas-là que chaque goût peut être différent. La Brasserie Henry a la solution parfaite à ce problème grâce à ses « plats signatures » comme « les moules du chef au Marsala » et le « vol-au-vent à la sauce mousseline et avec des frites ». Ce sont deux plats qui ont été nominés par la « Zeesterre » (la « Zeesterre » est une élection des meilleurs restaurants et bistros de la côte belge). Les enfants adoreront certainement les spaghettis ou les croquettes aux crevettes. De plus, la salade niçoise est servie avec des morceaux de thon rouge du Nord grillés.

Les boissons

Brasserie Henry a une liste de cocktails impressionnante et sert 10 gins différents. Le vin blanc de la maison est français et le rosé et le rouge sont espagnols. Nous aimons plutôt les bières remarquables sur la carte comme de l’« Omer », de l’« Ommegang » et la bière ostendaise « PoppoLou ».

Le décor

Nous sommes arrivé un jour d’été chaud et nous avons trouvé une terrasse chaleureuse avec vue sur mer et les beach-clubs branchées. C’est une belle terrasse élégante éclairée avec des serveurs qui font leur travail d’une manière calme et maîtrisée. A l’intérieur, la brasserie est plutôt classique et rustique et l’atmosphère est celle d’une brasserie parisienne typique.

Les plats

Nous avons pris la « Mexican Mule » avec de la tequila, du citron vert et du tonic car nous voulions goûter l’un de leurs célèbres cocktails. C’était un bon apéritif surprenant et rafraîchissant. Par contre, nous n’étions pas fans du cabillaud au coulis de poivron donc nous avons choisi de la viande : une côte de porc « The Duke of Bershire » grillée à la sauce béarnaise au pickles et des rösti (€ 24). La côte était bien grillée, encore un tout petit peu rosée et la sauce était tout simplement délicieuse. D’ailleurs, des rösti sont une bonne alternative pour des frites.

Infos pratiques

Contact ? 
Albert I-Promenade 65 bus 22
Tel. : 059/51.87.50
info [at] brasseriehenry.be
www.brasseriehenry.be

Type ?
Une brasserie qui sert des pâtes et des plats de poisson et de viande.

Heures d’ouverture ?
Ouvert à partir de 10h30.
Fermé les mercredis et les jeudis.

Avec la voiture ?
Garez votre voiture dans le parking payant du Kursaal d’Ostende.

Avec les transports en commun ?
Prenez le tram jusqu’à l’arrêt de la place Marie José. Brasserie Henry se trouve à quelques minutes de marche.

Vous ne voulez rien rater à Ostende ? Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous tenir au courant

  • Les meilleurs endroits où manger
  • Les événements et attractions actuels
  • Gagnez de superbes prix