Enter 14: Léonard Pongo – Primordial Earth

Location

Mu.ZEE
Romestraat 11
Oostende 8400
Show location on map

Opening hours

Open today
Open tomorrow
Sat 2 Jul 2022 to Sat 12 Nov 2022
This week
Mon 8 Aug 2022
Closed
Tue 9 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Wed 10 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Thu 11 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Fri 12 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Sat 13 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Sun 14 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Next week
Mon 15 Aug 2022
Closed
Tue 16 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Wed 17 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Thu 18 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Fri 19 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Sat 20 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Sun 21 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
In 2 weeks
Mon 22 Aug 2022
Closed
Tue 23 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Wed 24 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Thu 25 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Fri 26 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Sat 27 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30
Sun 28 Aug 2022
10:00-17:30

Prices

€12

Photos rarely do justice to the atmosphere of a landscape. A cropped surface cannot possibly match the mystical and unspoiled reality. Conscious of the limits of photography, Léonard Pongo seeks other ways of giving form to the superhuman force of the Earth. For him, letting go, getting lost and subordination are the only means of becoming part of the environment, and it is from this angle that he sets to work in the Congolese landscape. In Primordial Earth he lets nature speak, without trying to translate. From the traditions and cosmologies of the Kasai region, he introduces us to a world in which humankind is not the protagonist, but a character, secondary to plants and animals.

With his atypical framing, Léonard Pongo shows no ambition to capture nature, but instead gives us the impression that we are standing in the middle of it and can only perceive a fragment of a larger whole. The layers and reflections that slowly slide over each other unfold into a lively and immeasurable likeness that is more of an impression than a reproduction. The materials chosen by the artist also emphasise the tactility of the earth and the rivers, sometimes robust and granular, sometimes liquid and shiny. Indeed, as a photographer, Léonard Pongo does not limit himself to the classic print on the wall, but experiments with texture, transparency and movement, hinting at an overwhelming and constantly changing nature.