You are here

Ensor en Spilliaert museumvleugel. Twee grootmeesters uit Oostende

Mu.ZEE, the Art Museum by the Sea, introduces a superb new collection featuring works by James Ensor and Léon Spilliaert in its brand-new wing.Opening in May 2016Ostend and James Ensor are inextricably linked. Ensor loved Ostend: the city served as his muse and inexhaustible source of inspiration. He loved it for its crowds, the tempestuous North Sea, the carnival that painted the streets in festive colours each year. The name of the painter Léon Spillaert, twenty years his junior, is also connected with this Queen of Seaside Resorts. His nocturnal rambles through the city and long walks along the beach spurred him to create his best works, dark and suffused with mystery. Although Ensor and Spilliaert were very different as artists, their names are often mentioned in the same breath.In Two Masters of Ostend, the museum aims, above all, to allow the masterworks that are the highlights of its collection to speak for themselves. Behind every work of art or document in our archives you will find a myriad of anecdotes and tales featuring and recounting the lives of people such as the judge Eugène Demolder, writer Edgar Allan Poe, scientist Ernest Rousseau, bacteriologist Mariette Hannon-Rousseau, artist Willy Finch, writer and art critic Emile Verhaeren, poet and director of the ‘Kursaal’ (casino) Henri Vandeputte, the patron and music lover Emma Lambotte, Brussels publisher Edmond Deman, art promoter and gallery owner Paul-Gustave Van Hecke, art critic and artist Théodore Hannon, philosopher Walter Benjamin, author Stefan Zweig, composer Richard Wagner, the French writers Honoré de Balzac and Alfred Jarry, the author of Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes, and the film-maker Henri Storck, to name but a few. They take us back to the Ostend of a bygone era, reflected in the city as it is today.

Opening hours

Open today from 10h to 18h.
Open tomorrow from 10h to 18h.
This week
Monday 24 Feb 202024 February 2020:
closed
Tuesday 25 Feb 202025 February 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Wednesday 26 Feb 202026 February 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Thursday 27 Feb 202027 February 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Friday 28 Feb 202028 February 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Saturday 29 Feb 202029 February 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Sunday 1 Mar 20201 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Next week
Monday 2 Mar 20202 March 2020:
closed
Tuesday 3 Mar 20203 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Wednesday 4 Mar 20204 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Thursday 5 Mar 20205 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Friday 6 Mar 20206 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Saturday 7 Mar 20207 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Sunday 8 Mar 20208 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
In 2 weeks
Monday 9 Mar 20209 March 2020:
closed
Tuesday 10 Mar 202010 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Wednesday 11 Mar 202011 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Thursday 12 Mar 202012 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Friday 13 Mar 202013 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Saturday 14 Mar 202014 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Sunday 15 Mar 202015 March 2020:
10:00 to 18:00
Closed on 25/12 and 01/01

Location

Romestraat 11
Oostende 8400
Show location on map

Prices

Default price:
€9
Kids up to 12 years:
Free
Youngsters up to 26 years:
€1
55+:
€7.5
Groups: price per person:
€7.5
Minimum number of people:
€15

Don't miss out on anything new about Ostend and let us keep you informed!

  • on the best spots to eat and drink
  • on all events and attractions
  • on your chance to win fun prizes