Atlantikwall

Location

Nieuwpoortsesteenweg 636
Oostende 8400
Show location on map

Opening hours

Closed today
Open tomorrow
This week
Mon 23 May 2022
Closed
Tue 24 May 2022
10:30-17:00
Wed 25 May 2022
10:30-17:00
Thu 26 May 2022
10:30-17:00
Fri 27 May 2022
10:30-17:00
Sat 28 May 2022
10:30-18:00
Sun 29 May 2022
10:30-18:00
Next week
Mon 30 May 2022
Closed
Tue 31 May 2022
10:30-17:00
Wed 1 Jun 2022
10:30-17:00
Thu 2 Jun 2022
10:30-17:00
Fri 3 Jun 2022
10:30-17:00
Sat 4 Jun 2022
10:30-18:00
Sun 5 Jun 2022
10:30-18:00
In 2 weeks
Mon 6 Jun 2022
Closed
Tue 7 Jun 2022
10:30-17:00
Wed 8 Jun 2022
10:30-17:00
Thu 9 Jun 2022
10:30-17:00
Fri 10 Jun 2022
10:30-17:00
Sat 11 Jun 2022
10:30-18:00
Sun 12 Jun 2022
10:30-18:00

Closed dates

Mon 14 Nov 2022 to Fri 10 Mar 2023

Prices

Default price:
€8
Kids up to 12 years:
Free
The Atlantikwall in Raversyde is one of the best-preserved remains of the German defensive line, with more than sixty bunkers, open-air and underground passageways, observation posts and artillery positions.

In the entrance area you can view several restored collection items, including an Enigma encryption machine. You’ll also learn more about the Atlantikwall and the coastal war.

This unique bunker complex from the First World War is located in an area of undulating dunes with a view of the sea.The battery has undergone extensive and thorough restoration and renovation. Immerse yourself in the fascinating history of daily life in the coastal battery and on the occupied coast. Learn about the mysterious war at sea and the coastal defences from images, animations, models and a 3D reconstruction. And for a touch of culture, discover the ‘Green Chequered House’ by artist Lily Van der Stokker (Beaufort). She has drawn inspiration from Prince Charles’ artistic past and the camouflage techniques used on ships, and seeks to bring a touch of femininity to what she regards as a masculine site.

The Saltzwedel-neu Battery is a textbook example of the Atlantikwall. Its fine state of preservation makes it one of Europe’s most important museums of defensive works.