Agenda: museums and exhibitions and sight in Ostend

You searched for: musea en tentoonstellingen bezienswaardigheid
24 resultaten

Sint-Petrus- en Sint-Paulus Church

The church St.-Petrus- and Paulus is a neogotic church built in 1907 which consists of beautiful stained-glass windows. The tomb of Louise-Marie, the queen of Belgium who deceased in Oostende, is situated in the chapel of the main altar (only to be visited upon request). The St.-Pieter's Tower, also called 'Peperbusse' in local dialect, is situated behind the church St. Petrus- and Paulus. Once it was part of the ancient St. Pieterskerk that burned down last century.

Read more

Lighthouse Lange Nelle

Lighthouse "Lange Nelle" : The famous lighthouse is the fourth one in the history of Oostende and the third one on this location. It was built between 1947 and 1949, rises 65 metres above the sea and guides the fishermen safely in the Ostend harbour. The lighthouse is not open to the public.

Read more

Kursaal Oostende

The building dominates the view at the Albert I promenade. The Casino, a design by Leon Stynen (1953) stands on the spot where in 1875 the first casino already stood. The latter was destroyed during WWII. After the war it would still be eight years before the current building was erected. This strikingly large building can boast being the largest in Belgium and is a typical example of modernism. The eye-catchers are of course the murals by Paul Delvaux. On 17th December 2004, the renovated...

Read more

Seamen's Memorial

The Seamen's Memorial (1953) can be found on the Zeeheldenplein. Each year the numerous fishermen from Oostende who died at sea are commemorated. This was also the location of the first lighthouse in Oostende (1771).

Read more

Floral Clock

Floral Clock. A special creation in which a total number of about 20 000 plants are used to form a unique palette of colour. The date - made of flowers - is adjusted every day during the summer months.

Read more

Sea excursion Oostende

Enjoy the sun, the sea and the water! ...

Read more

Mu.ZEE – Art museum at the seaside

Mu.ZEE will close its doors on Monday 18 January 2021 to reopen on 1 June 2021. ...

Read more

Koninklijke Gaanderijen

The Royal Galleries were finished in 1905. They are approximately 400 m long and served to protect the middle classes from sun and rain during their walks. They connected the Royal Pavilion with the Wellington racing track. In the beginning of the thirties, the Thermae Palace was built next to it. These days it is a four-star hotel still breathing the Belle Époque atmosphere.

Read more

Venetian Galleries

In 1900, Belgian King Leopold II commissioned architect Henri Maquet to design the first royal gallery: an L-shaped, closed and covered walkway between the royal villa and a large octagonal salon. Nowadays it is known by the name ‘Venetian Galleries’, referring to Venice’s classicist architecture. When the Belgian royal family decided they would no longer use their coastal residence, Ostend was given the concession of the entire complex and resolved that the building be used for cultural...

Read more

The Spilliaert House

The Spilliaert House wants to introduce as many people as possible to the paintings of Léon Spilliaert. Targeting a broad audience, the centre wants to help improve access to and knowledge of the artist’s life and work. As a monographical arts centre, the Spilliaert House’s ambition is to host a new exhibition twice a year and position itself as the premier documentation centre for scientific research. Please note: The Spilliaert House is temporarily closed.

Read more

Pages