Agenda: sight, walking and cycling and maritime in Ostend

You searched for: tomorrow bezienswaardigheid fietsen en wandelen maritiem
35 resultaten

Kursaal Oostende

The building dominates the view at the Albert I promenade. The Casino, a design by Leon Stynen (1953) stands on the spot where in 1875 the first casino already stood. The latter was destroyed during WWII. After the war it would still be eight years before the current building was erected. This strikingly large building can boast being the largest in Belgium and is a typical example of modernism. The eye-catchers are of course the murals by Paul Delvaux. On 17th December 2004, the renovated...

Read more

Seamen's Memorial

The Seamen's Memorial (1953) can be found on the Zeeheldenplein. Each year the numerous fishermen from Oostende who died at sea are commemorated. This was also the location of the first lighthouse in Oostende (1771).

Read more

Floral Clock

Floral Clock. A special creation in which a total number of about 20 000 plants are used to form a unique palette of colour. The date - made of flowers - is adjusted every day during the summer months.

Read more

Two-master De Nele

Past, present and future go hand in hand on board this two-master. The 'Nele' was built after the design of the historical Oostende two-mast smack and in accordance with the best sailing traditions.

Read more

Seafishing

Get on board for an unforgettable sea fishing trip! Experience is not required, old or young, feel free to join in for this healthy leisure activity. ...

Read more

Koninklijke Gaanderijen

The Royal Galleries were finished in 1905. They are approximately 400 m long and served to protect the middle classes from sun and rain during their walks. They connected the Royal Pavilion with the Wellington racing track. In the beginning of the thirties, the Thermae Palace was built next to it. These days it is a four-star hotel still breathing the Belle Époque atmosphere.

Read more

Venetian Galleries

In 1900, Belgian King Leopold II commissioned architect Henri Maquet to design the first royal gallery: an L-shaped, closed and covered walkway between the royal villa and a large octagonal salon. Nowadays it is known by the name ‘Venetian Galleries’, referring to Venice’s classicist architecture. When the Belgian royal family decided they would no longer use their coastal residence, Ostend was given the concession of the entire complex and resolved that the building be used for cultural...

Read more

O.-L.-Vrouw-ter-Duinenkerk

The Dune church was made a listed monument in 1946. The trapezoidal cemetery with lawns, weeping willows and shrubs followed suit in 1975. Many of the people who are buried here belonged to well-known families of Mariakerke. Leopold Passchyn was Mariakerke’s last mayor (they have even named a street after him in Mariakerke). James Ensor is also buried here, near his beloved Dune church, which he helped protect against demolition in the late 19th Century. Every year in April, they organise the...

Read more

Pages