Agenda: to see and to do, museums and exhibitions, james ensor, food and drinks and sight in Ostend

Ostend City Museum

The museum tells you Ostend’s fascinating life story and also casts light on its future. A host of objects, posters, documents and multimedia applications reveal the secrets behind the development of the city, its tourism, fishing industry and shipping. Discover the Ostend of former times and the most famous resident of the premises, Louise-Marie, the first Belgian queen. She shows a strong presence, and even has her say.

Read more

The Crystal Ship - Street Art in Oostende

Discover “The Crystal Ship” in Ostend: renowned and world-famous artists make enormous paintings on walls as well as fantastic art installations in open spaces.

Read more

Railway station Oostende

Eclectic station complex consisting of a central entrance hall flanked by two square "Tower buildings". On the left side adjacent to the station the former "Hotel Terminus Maritime".

Read more

Sint-Petrus- en Sint-Paulus Church

The church St.-Petrus- and Paulus is a neogotic church built in 1907 which consists of beautiful stained-glass windows. The tomb of Louise-Marie, the queen of Belgium who deceased in Oostende, is situated in the chapel of the main altar (only to be visited upon request). The St.-Pieter's Tower, also called 'Peperbusse' in local dialect, is situated behind the church St. Petrus- and Paulus. Once it was part of the ancient St. Pieterskerk that burned down last century.

Read more

Lighthouse Lange Nelle

Lighthouse "Lange Nelle" : The famous lighthouse is the fourth one in the history of Oostende and the third one on this location. It was built between 1947 and 1949, rises 65 metres above the sea and guides the fishermen safely in the Ostend harbour. The lighthouse is not open to the public.

Read more

Koninklijke Gaanderijen

The Royal Galleries were finished in 1905. They are approximately 400 m long and served to protect the middle classes from sun and rain during their walks. They connected the Royal Pavilion with the Wellington racing track. In the beginning of the thirties, the Thermae Palace was built next to it. These days it is a four-star hotel still breathing the Belle Époque atmosphere.

Read more

Venetian Galleries

In 1900, Belgian King Leopold II commissioned architect Henri Maquet to design the first royal gallery: an L-shaped, closed and covered walkway between the royal villa and a large octagonal salon. Nowadays it is known by the name ‘Venetian Galleries’, referring to Venice’s classicist architecture. When the Belgian royal family decided they would no longer use their coastal residence, Ostend was given the concession of the entire complex and resolved that the building be used for cultural...

Read more

O.-L.-Vrouw-ter-Duinenkerk

The Dune church was made a listed monument in 1946. The trapezoidal cemetery with lawns, weeping willows and shrubs followed suit in 1975. Many of the people who are buried here belonged to well-known families of Mariakerke. Leopold Passchyn was Mariakerke’s last mayor (they have even named a street after him in Mariakerke). James Ensor is also buried here, near his beloved Dune church, which he helped protect against demolition in the late 19th Century. Every year in April, they organise the...

Read more

Herdenkingsmonument HMS Vindictive

In May 2013, the restored bow of the HMS VIndictive was given a prominent place on the east bank of the port of Ostend. ...

Read more

Pages