You are here

Café Botteltje

A pub offering the largest selection of beers and Dutch gins (“jenevers”) at the Belgian coast? This can only be Café Botteltje, an Ostend gastronomy icon.

CUISINE

First and foremost, Café Botteltje is the place to be if you want to have a beer or Dutch gin. As the average Belgian customer (and foreign tourist) likes to combine drinking with a little something to eat, the menu also features various types of finger food, salads, mussels and a selection of fish and meat dishes. Café Botteltje actually has a very subtle approach towards the catering they offer: they focus on snacks and dishes, which perfectly match the various – sometimes heavy – beers. Take the “bitterballen” (crunchy, deep-fried meatballs) accompanying a glass of La Trappe Quadrupel or a portion of Oerbier pâté. And why not try the finger food plate, which contains the ‘best of all worlds’, depending on the offer and the chef’s mood.

BEVERAGES

There is quite literally not a single establishment at the Belgian coast – and even in Flanders – where you can drink some many different types of beer and Dutch gin. No less than sixteen different beers are available on tap, ranging from the all-time favourite Jupiler to the more heavier stuff such as the St. Bernardus, La Trappe’s only Trappist blonde beer in the world, the Liefmans Goudenband and the delicious IPA produced by the Amsterdam brewery ‘t IJ.

INTERIOR

Café Botteltje reflects the style of a typical pub: it is a combination of a traditional pub with an English gentleman’s club. Such an establishment does not need to have a trendy design or austere interior; it actually needs to be slightly baroque. Thanks to the feeling of privacy created by the woodwork, your company will immediately feel at home.

DISHES

We would like to taste an Ostend tap beer and today, this appears to be the Keyte Tripel, i.e. the ‘Ôstens Belegeringsbier’ (a beer commemorating the Siege of Ostend). A blonde 33 cc beer with a 7.2 alcohol percentage, i.e. not one to be drunk the entire evening. It comes with two thick slices of home-baked Trappist bread – which can actually also be bought here – accompanied by a portion of heavy Oerbier pâté. Pearl onions and pickled gherkins, a fresh salad, a small bowl of lard and a cup of sharp mustard complete this rural experience.

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

Contact details? 
Louisastraat 19
059/70.09.28
www.cafebotteltje.be

Type? 
Brasserie, dishes prepared with beer. 

Opening times? 
MON 4.30 pm to 1 am
TUE, WED, THU, SUN 11.30 am to 1 am
FRI and SAT 11.30 am to 2 am

Travelling by car? 
Park your car at the Ostend Casino car park (fees apply). It takes you 10 minutes on foot to reach the restaurant, which is located in the Louisastraat 19.

Travelling by public transport? 
Take the tram and get off at the Marie-Joséplein stop, which is located at a 5-minute walk from the restaurant.

Don't miss out on anything new about Ostend and let us keep you informed!

  • on the best spots to eat and drink
  • on all events and attractions
  • on your chance to win fun prizes

Vous êtes ici

Café Botteltje

Café Botteltje, un des icônes de la gastronomie ostendaise, a la plus grande sélection de bières et de pekets (genièvre, sorte de gin) de toute la côte belge.

LA CUISINE

Café Botteltje est de prime abord un lieu où vous devez déguster les bières ou les pekets mais puisque les Belges (et les touristes) aiment bien avoir de quoi manger également, Café Botteltje a aussi un menu avec des amuse-gueules, des salades, des moules et quelques plats de viande et de poisson. Botteltje met l’accent sur des amuse-gueules et de bons plats qui vont bien ensemble avec les bières souvent assez fortes. Prenez les bitterballen (des boules de viande à l’hollandaise) avec une Trappe Quadrupel ou une portion de pâté fait à base de l’Oerbier, une bière ambrée, ou encore le plat d’amuse-gueules où vous recevez le meilleur du meilleur selon l’offre du jour.

LES BOISSONS

Il n’y a aucun autre endroit à la côte ou même en Flandre où il y a une telle collection de bières et de pekets. Il y a bien seize bières à la pression différentes qui vont de notre bonne amie, la Jupiler jusqu’à la bière plus forte de Saint-Bernard, la seule bière trappiste blanche de La Trappe. 
Il y a entre autres aussi la Liefmans Goudenband, une bière rouge-brune et la bonne IPA (Indian pale ale ; une bière ambrée) de la brasserie de l’IJ d’Amsterdam.

L’INTÉRIEUR

Café Botteltje est un bar comme le doit être un bar de cette allure : quelque part entre un bar brun (l’intérieur est décoré avec du bois foncé) et un Gentlemen’s Club anglais. Ce type de bar n’a pas besoin d’un style parfait car le style baroque sera toujours le plus important. Le bois crée une sorte d’intimité et de cette manière, votre compagnie se sentira directement plus confortable.

LES PLATS

Goûtez une bière à la pression ostendaise, nommée la Keyte Tripel. C’est une bière blonde de 33cl avec un degré d’alcool de 7,2. Ce n’est donc pas une bière à boire pendant toute la soirée. Prenez aussi deux grandes tranches de pain fait à base de trappiste (que vous pouvez également acheter dans le bar) avec quelques tranches de pâté fait à base de l’Oerbier. L’expérience rustique est complète si vous y ajoutez des petits oignons, des cornichons, de la salade fraîche, un peu de saindoux et de la moutarde.

Infos pratiques

Contact ?
Louisastraat 19
059/70.09.28
www.cafebotteltje.be

Type ?
Brasserie, des plats avec de la bière

Heures d'ouverture ?
Lundi 16:30 à 01:00
Mardi, mercredi, jeudi, dimanche 11:30 à 01:00
Vendredi et samedi 11:30 à 02:00

Avec la voiture ? 
Garez votre voiture dans le parking payant du Kursaal à Ostende. Le restaurant se trouve à dix minutes de marche, dans la Louisastraat numéro 19.

Avec les transports en commun ? 
Prenez le tram jusqu’à l’arrêt Marie Joséplein. Le restaurant se trouve à cinq minutes de marche.

Vous ne voulez rien rater à Ostende ? Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous tenir au courant

  • Les meilleurs endroits où manger
  • Les événements et attractions actuels
  • Gagnez de superbes prix